Temperature

PGT temperature sensors

A temperature sensor measures the amount of thermal energy generated by an object or system. The measurand "temperature" is, of all other measurands, the one that is most frequently detected by sensors.

Technological advantages of our developments

Our temperature sensors are made of thermoplastics by injection molding. This is new. It is well known that plastics are poor heat conductors. We change the thermal conductivity of thermoplastics by modification so that they become good to very good thermal conductors and replace metallic sensor designs as needed. We modify so that other technological advantages arise in addition to thermal conductivity. This is how our product solutions are characterized by new properties:

  • Design freedom:
    The injection molding process means that we are not bound by the otherwise standard designs of metallic sensors when it comes to sensor design.
  • No air pockets:
    Thanks to the use of the process-safe injection molding method, we ensure that there is no air inside the sensor in the finished sensor. This also prevents condensation problems in the sensor.
  • Weight saving:
    Plastic is lighter than metal.
  • Vibration resistant:
    Due to a low mass and a sufficiently high stiffness in all three spatial directions, the natural frequency of our sensors is high. Thus, our temperature sensors are extremely resistant to vibration and shock.
  • Thermal conductivity:
    We have many polymers with different thermal properties. Generally, the thermal conductivity values are in the range of 2 to 15 W/m∙K. In particular, combining polymers with good thermal conductivity around the measuring element with a polymer with poor thermal conductivity for adaptation to the installation environment significantly increases the accuracy of the measurement results.
  • Chemical resistance:
    We use base polymers from the field of thermoplastics, which already have very good chemical resistance.
  • Lead-free:
    Due to the elimination of metals, our sensor solutions are "lead-free" and can also be used in food and drinking water applications thanks to approved materials.

Ice-cold professionals when it comes to temperature management

  • Design freedom:
    The injection molding process means that we are not bound by the usual designs of metallic sensors when it comes to sensor design.
  • Insulation resistance:
    Our thermoplastics have excellent electrical insulation properties. As a result, our designs achieve high withstand voltages of several kilovolts (kV) even with thin wall thicknesses. In addition, very good impulse withstand voltages can be achieved. We thus achieve high insulation values.
  • Partial discharge:
    With our sensors, partial discharge measurement during type and routine testing is used to evaluate the insulation system within a sensor and its behavior with respect to the environment. Due to the compact encapsulation, we achieve with our sensors that partial discharges are not or hardly perceptible.
  • Measuring element position:
    In our designs, the measuring elements in the finished temperature sensor are always in the same position relative to the heat source with the same design. We achieve this through the reproducible injection molding process and the individual interior design.
  • Contacting:
    The contacting methods between the measuring element and the connecting leads are diverse and are individually designed. In the case of wired measuring elements, welded or laser-welded connections are the primary method. In the case of SMD (Surface-Mounted Device) measuring elements, overmolding takes place with Flex-PCB (Printed Circuit Board) and suitable soldering processes.
  • Redundancy:
    The construction of redundant concepts is possible.
  • Mounting threads:
    All types of threads can also be injection molded in our sensor solutions. However, our designers often also look for alternative and economically more interesting fastening methods, e.g. plug-in latching systems, in consultation with the customer.
  • Connectors:
    It is possible to mold suitable connectors, e.g. automotive connectors, directly onto the sensor.
  • Customer installation situation:
    Preferably, our sensors are developed in such a way that the functional and spatial integration into the customer application is taken into account. The customer assembly thus becomes the sensor. Thus, it is often possible to measure in places where there would normally be no room for a sensor to be adapted.
  • Measuring and monitoring:
    We have the option of integrating monitoring sensors in addition to the temperature sensor. These can be, for example, thermoswitches that react accordingly when a too high temperature is reached, self-holding or resetting.
  • Digitalization:
    In addition to the implementation with classic measuring elements (preferably platinum measuring resistors Pt100/Pt1000, NTC and PTC), the use of digital temperature sensors is also possible. In this case, digital output signals are available for connection to BUS systems, e.g. I²C, SPI, MODBUS or CAN.
  • Protection class:
    Our polymer sensors achieve high protection classes. Here it is important to combine the suitable polymers with the appropriate sheath materials of the cables. We also offer solutions with inserted sealing rings, which thus ensure a high protection class.
Image alt text 1

Customized version Temperature sensor

Image alt text 2

Temperature measurement heating

Do you have any questions? Get in touch!


Center +49 2241 2533 300 info@pgt.jumo.net +49 2241 2533 300

Temperatur

PGT-Temperatursensoren

Ein Temperatursensor misst die Menge an Wärmeenergie, die von einem Objekt oder System erzeugt wird. Die Messgröße „Temperatur“ ist von allen anderen Messgrößen diejenige, die am häufigsten durch Sensoren erfasst wird.

Technologische Vorteile unserer Entwicklungen

Unsere Temperatursensoren werden aus Thermoplasten im Spritzgussverfahren hergestellt. Das ist neu. Bekannt ist, dass Kunststoffe schlechte Wärmeleiter sind. Wir verändern die Wärmeleitung der Thermoplaste durch Modifikation so, dass diese gut bis sehr gut wärmeleitend werden und metallische Sensorkonstruktionen bedarfsgerecht ersetzen. Wir modifizieren, damit neben der thermischen Leitfähigkeit weitere technologische Vorteile entstehen. So zeichnen sich unsere Produktlösungen durch neue Eigenschaften aus:

  • Designfreiheit:
    Durch das Spritzgussverfahren sind wir bei der Sensorgestaltung nicht an die sonst üblichen Designs von metallischen Sensoren gebunden.
  • Keine Lufteinschlüsse:
    Dank der Anwendung des prozesssicheren Spritzgussverfahrens stellen wir im fertigen Sensor sicher, dass sich im Sensorinneren keine Luft befindet. Dadurch entstehen auch keine Betauungsprobleme im Sensor.
  • Gewichtsersparnis:
    Kunststoff ist leichter als Metall.
  • Vibrationsfest:
    Durch eine geringe Masse und einer hinreichen großen Steifigkeit in allen drei Raumrichtungen ist die Eigenfrequenz unserer Sensoren hoch. So sind unsere Temperatursensoren extrem vibrations- und erschütterungsfest.
  • Wärmeleitung:
    Wir verfügen über viele Polymere mit unterschiedlichen thermischen Eigenschaften. In der Regel liegen die Wärmeleitwerte in Bereichen von 2 bis 15 W/m∙K. Insbesondere die Kombination von gut wärmeleitenden Polymeren rund um das Messelement mit einem schlecht wärmeleitenden Polymer für die Adaptierung in die Einbauumgebung erhöht die Genauigkeit der Messergebnisse signifikant.
  • Chemische Beständigkeit:
    Wir verwenden Basispolymere aus dem Bereich der Thermoplaste, die bereits über eine sehr gute chemische Beständigkeit verfügen.
  • Bleifrei:
    Aufgrund des Wegfalls von Metallen sind unsere Sensorlösungen „bleifrei“ und können durch zugelassene Materialien auch im Bereich der Lebensmittel- und Trinkwasseranwendungen eingesetzt werden.

Eiskalte Profis, wenn es um Temperaturmanagement geht

  • Designfreiheit:
    Durch das Spritzgussverfahren sind wir bei der Sensorgestaltung nicht an die sonst üblichen Designs von metallischen Sensoren gebunden.Isolationsfest: Unsere Thermoplaste sind elektrisch hervorragend isolierend. Somit erreichen unsere Konstruktionen bereits bei dünnen Wandstärken hohe Stehspannungsfestigkeiten von mehreren Kilovolt (kV). Außerdem lassen sich sehr gute Stoßspannungsfestigkeiten erzielen. Wir erreichen somit hohe Isolationswerte.
  • Teilentladung:
    Bei unseren Sensoren wird mittels Teilentladungsmessung während der Typ- und Stückprüfung das Isolationssystem innerhalb eines Sensors und das Verhalten zur Umgebung bewertet. Wir erreichen mit unseren Sensoren durch die kompakte Kapselung, dass Teilentladungen nicht bzw. kaum wahrnehmbar sind.
  • Messelementlage:
    Die Messelemente liegen bei unseren Designs im fertig hergestellten Temperatursensor bei gleicher Bauform immer an der gleichen Position zur Wärmequelle. Dies erreichen wir durch den reproduzierbaren Spritzgussprozess und das individuelle Innendesign.
  • Kontaktierungen:
    Die Kontaktierungsverfahren zwischen Messelement und Anschlussleitungen sind vielfältig und werden individuell gestaltet. Vorrangig finden sich bei bedrahteten Messelementen Schweiß- oder Laserschweißverbindungen. Bei SMD (Surface-Mounted Device) Messelementen findet die Umspritzung mit Flex-PCB (Printed Circuit Board) und geeigneten Lötverfahren statt.
  • Redundanz:
    Der Aufbau von redundanten Konzepten ist möglich.
  • Befestigungsgewinde:
    Auch alle Arten von Gewinden können bei unseren Sensorlösungen im Spritzgussverfahren hergestellt werden. Unsere Designer suchen jedoch oft in Kundenabsprache auch nach alternativen und wirtschaftlich interessanteren Befestigungsarten, z.B. Steckrastsysteme.
  • Stecker:
    Es ist möglich, geeignete Stecker, z.B. Automotive Stecker, direkt am Sensor mit anzuspritzen.
  • Kundeneinbausituation:
    Bevorzugt werden unsere Sensoren so entwickelt, dass die funktionale und räumliche Integration in die Kundenanwendung berücksichtigt wird. Die Kundenbaugruppe wird somit zum Sensor. So ist es oftmals möglich, an Stellen zu messen, wo üblicherweise kein Raum für einen zu adaptierenden Sensor wäre.
  • Messen und Überwachen:
    Wir haben die Möglichkeit, neben dem Temperatursensor auch Überwachungssensoren zu integrieren. Dies können beispielsweise Thermoschalter sein, die bei Erreichung einer zu hohen Temperatur entsprechend reagieren, selbsthaltend oder rückstellend.
  • Digitalisierung:
    Neben der Umsetzung mit klassischen Messelementen (bevorzugt Platinmesswiderstände Pt100/Pt1000, NTC und PTC) ist auch die Verwendung von digitalen Temperatursensoren möglich. Hier stehen dann digitale Ausgangssignale zum Anschluss an BUS-Systeme zur Verfügung, z.B. I²C, SPI, MODBUS oder CAN.
  • Schutzart:
    Unsere Polymersensoren erreichen hohe Schutzarten. Hier ist es wichtig, die geeigneten Polymere mit den entsprechenden Mantelwerkstoffen der Leitungen zu kombinieren. Wir bieten auch Lösungen mit eingesetzten Dichtungsringen an, die so eine hohe Schutzart sicherstellen.
Image alt text 1

Kundenspezifische Ausführung Temperatursensor

Image alt text 2

Temperaturmessung Heizung

Sie haben Fragen? Melden Sie sich!


Zentrale +49 2241 2533 300 info@pgt.jumo.net +49 2241 2533 300